Posts tagged ‘freak kitchen’

June 21, 2013

Album 0276: Freak Kitchen – Spanking Hour


Release Date: 1996
Genre: Progressive Rock/Metal


1. Walls Of Stupidity (04:32)
2. Haw, Haw, Haw (04:36)
3. Jerk (04:13)
4. Taste My Fist (03:40)
5. Burning Bridges (04:14)
6. Inner Revolution (03:40)
7. Lisa (04:34)
8. Spanking Hour (04:29)
9. Proud To Be Plastic (04:39)
10. Dystopia (03:47)
11. The Bitter Season (05:40)

Total Length: 48:03

Walls Of Stupidity has awesome riffs and lyrics, and the chorus and guitar solo are great as well. Fantastic opening track. Haw, Haw, Haw is pretty heavy but the chorus is oddly upbeat and sounds like a Disney chorus. It’s a strange combo that works really well, I like this song. Jerk is fairly good, the chorus sticks with me, but that’s about all. I wouldn’t pick it before some of the other songs on here, if that explains anything at all.

Taste My Fist has a lot of fun rhythms, especially in the bridge and main riff. The lyrics are also pleasing, personally. Burning Bridges starts off sounding like a grunge song which left a sour taste, but the song ends up being really enjoyable and calming. Inner Revolution is a very good song, yet I kind of forget it once it’s over and can only sort of remember the riff. Lisa is a complete change of pace and it’s very nice. The chorus vocals really stick in my head.

Spanking Hour sadly doesn’t interest me a whole bunch. I like some moments on it but oddly it’s one of my least favorite tracks on the album. Proud To Be Plastic has some quirkiness which I love, and the chorus is simply amazing. Dystopia has amazing vocals and is simply a fantastic song. Pretty much most of the things I love from this band are on the last two tracks. The Bitter Season is fairly good but kind of a let-down after the previous songs. This is a strong, solid album with no bad points, but I don’t love it like I can with other albums.

Final Rating: 8/10

January 2, 2013

Album 0206: Freak Kitchen – Land Of The Freaks


Release Date: 2009
Genre: Progressive Rock/Metal


1. God Save The Spleen (04:30)
2. Hip Hip Hoorah (04:41)
3. Teargas Jazz (05:42)
4. Sick? Death By Hypochondria (03:59)
5. OK (03:46)
6. Honey, You’re A Nazi (04:22)
7. The Only Way (03:21)
8. Murder Groupie (04:45)
9. The Smell Of Time (03:27)
10. One Last Dance (04:10)
11. Do Not Disturb (03:01)
12. Clean It Up (03:45)

Total Length: 49:29

God Save The Spleen has an amazing riff and rhythm, the lyrics are a bit wacky but still thoughtful, and as always I love the vocals with this band. The guitar solo is also a thing of beauty. Hip Hip Hoorah is pretty fun in all honestly, but I do think the song could have been a minute or so shorter. Teargas Jazz is also great, and also goes on a bit too long. Still glad that they are willing to use odd instrumentation now and again. Sick? Death By Hypochondria has a great chorus and guitar solo.

OK is a bit of a trip to the softer side. I love them bringing back that unfamiliar instrument from track three, and the addition of strings are great as well. The transition into the heavier chorus is great as well. I love the opening scream of Honey, You’re A Nazi and the riff that follows is great. It also features some fantastic lyrics, they are actually kind of funny. The Only Way features the bassist as the lead singer. He doesn’t do a bad job, but they don’t generally do this so it feels out of place. The song itself is just slightly above average.

Murder Groupie has a fairly interesting chorus, but in the end I don’t really care about the song too much. The Smell Of Time is extremely catchy, it gets stuck in my head constantly. The lyrics are pretty good too. One Last Dance has a pretty fantastic chorus, and I love the guitars all over the place. The buildup to the ending is neat too. Do Not Disturb is a nice little track, I enjoy the calm feeling I get from it. Clean It Up is fairly interesting, yet not too memorable. This is an overall enjoyable album, just not on the level of the band’s self-titled work.

Final Rating: 8.5/10

September 21, 2012

Album 0122: Freak Kitchen – Freak Kitchen

Release Date: 1998
Genre: Progressive Metal/Rock


1. We’ve Heard It All Before (03:56)
2. Vaseline Bizniz (04:36)
3. Michael & The Syndrome (03:56)
4. Entertain Me (03:54)
5. My New Haircut (03:25)
6. Broken Food (04:22)
7. Bull (05:06)
8. Mr. Kaschei & The 13 Prostitutes (07:14)
9. Scattered (04:39)
10. Six Dildo Bob & The Bluegrass Samba From Hell (02:19)
11. Tiny Little Second (03:23)
12. Pathetic Aesthetic (04:39)
13. A Regular Guy (04:05)

Total Length: 55:33

We’ve Heard It All Before starts off the album very well. The way Freak Kitchen blends their usual style with an insane, almost Kevin Gilbert-like production and instrumentation is something to marvel at. The lyrics here are biting and the song has its hard and soft moments. Vaseline Bizniz is even meaner and more rocking and I love every moment of it. I adore the instrumentation, especially the bass throughout the song and the banjo in the background of the chorus. Not enough words can be said about this song.

Michael & The Syndrome is interesting at the very least because it’s the only song I know concerning Tourette’s. It’s still a pretty catchy pop song, and the guitar solo is amazing and worth listening to the whole song for. Entertain Me is a bit more laid back but still has some neat social commentary regarding, well, entertainment. Fun song. My New Haircut unabashedly takes another shot at pop songs, by having the most mundane, silly, basic lyrics but I still really like it.

Broken Food is more of a ballad, and it’s very pretty and melancholic. Everything just works well here. Bull makes things heavy again, and while it’s not as notable as some of the previous it still has its moments, like the Caribbean-themed instrumental section and the intro. Mr. Kaschei & The 13 Prostitutes is certainly unique. Lots of cool percussion, a spoken-word story halfway through, devil references, and incredibly cool vocal moments. The story section gets a bit annoying after you’ve heard it a few times, but the rest of song is just so unbelievably good.

Scattered is probably the song on here that just doesn’t really appeal to me. I never think about it or want to listen to it, and the Kenny G-type solo bit is annoying rather than funny or clever. It’s not a terrible song, just of a lesser quality. Six Dildo Bob & The Bluegrass Samba From Hell is just a very fun little track meant to show off all the instruments they used throughout this album. Tiny Little Second is a bit more jazzy and has some neat lyrics and a great piano solo.

Pathetic Aesthetic again reminds me of Kevin Gilbert, and is just a pretty solid song. It doesn’t hit huge high moments but is just good throughout. A Regular Guy has lyrics that get extremely close to being pretentious, but I can respect the idea being presented, as I sympathize a bit. I also love all the little production touches, such as in the percussion flourishes. This album is incredibly strong if maybe a bit front-heavy. I’m actually really disappointed that this is the only album these guys ever tried out these ideas on, as an album of Kascheis would be one of the best things ever written.

Final Rating: 9/10