Posts tagged ‘rx bandits’

July 30, 2013

Album 0310: Rx Bandits – Halfway Between Here And There


Release Date: 1999
Genre: Ska/Punk


1. What If (02:38)
2. Ten Seconds Never Seemed So Long (02:43)
3. Gun In Your Hand (03:53)
4. Wrong With Me (02:17)
5. Cornered (03:28)
6. Now Or Never (02:12)
7. This Time (02:08)
8. Lost (04:14)
9. Andrea (03:08)
10. Walk Away (02:50)
11. Metal Man/Two Winters Ago (15:12)

Total Length: 44:43

What If is a fantastic opening track. It’s really interesting seeing the progression of this band through their albums. This is their second, and their first was just a very simple ska album. With this track they have noticeably matured in songwriting on all accounts. The lyrics are more meaningful and the music is more thoughtful. Ten Seconds Never Seemed So Long is a bit more simplistic but I like the playfulness in the music.

Gun In Your Hand is akin to their more political-oriented tracks on later albums. It’s pretty evocative, and a very nice song in total. Wrong With Me is simple ska-punk but by god if I don’t love it. It’s even got the RBF thing going on where the music is upbeat but the lyrics are kind of depressing. Maybe I connect with them a bit and that’s why I love it. Cornered is a song that never really caught me, but the chorus is really nice and strong.

Now Or Never is another simpler track, this one doesn’t catch my ear quite as well. It’s just kind of fun and then it’s gone. This Time is much stronger, the main riff is way better and catchier. I don’t know who this second singer is though, he doesn’t appear on later releases to my knowledge, so that’s kind of off putting, but this song is still great. Lost is a pretty strong song but once again I have to say it never really spoke to me. I’ll enjoy it while it’s playing but once it’s over that’s it.

Andrea is kind of a weird track. The main riff is okay, and the lyrics are odd. Decent song though. Walk Away is fairly good, though I have to say again that the song doesn’t stick with me. Metal Man has a fun intro and the rest of the song is just average. It also only last about three and a half minutes, and then we get nearly ten minutes of silence before the hidden track begins. Two Winters Ago is a fairly nice acoustic track. The vocals do get stuck in my head at least. This is before the band really and truly found their footing in my opinion, but it’s still a solid album.

Final Rating: 7/10

June 12, 2012

Album 0051: Rx Bandits – …And The Battle Begun

Release Date: 2006
Genre: Progressive Rock


1. Intro (00:46)
2. …And The Battle Begun (04:57)
3. In Her Drawer (05:12)
4. Only For The Night (03:47)
5. On A Lonely Screen (02:45)
6. 1980 (03:03)
7. One Million Miles An Hour, Fast Asleep (02:54)
8. Apparition (03:39)
9. A Mouth Full Of Hollow Threats (03:33)
10. Epoxi-Lips (06:05)
11. Tainted Wheat (03:30)
12. To Our Unborn Daughers (05:14)
13. Crushing Destroyer (05:11)

Total Length: 50:36

The Intro is a cool vocals-only start to the album. …And The Battle Begun is a fantastic opening song, with its own intro being an amazing piece of work, and the rest of the song being cool RxB craziness. Funky and heavy and just plain cool. In Her Drawer is similarly great, I just love this song. Only For The Night seems to draw some influence from the 80s, and just begs you to sing along to it.

For me, it feels like On A Lonely Screen and the few songs after it seem to form a suite of songs rather than individually taken songs. This first one is fairly good, it doesn’t start off well in my opinion. 1980 is fairly emotional, I like it. One Million Miles An Hour, Fast Asleep is obviously meant to be a faster, harder song but I just don’t like the feel of it. Apparition is a softer, laid back song and I enjoy the creepiness of it.

A Mouth Full Of Hollow Threats is a song I’ve never been able to get into much. It has some neat moments, but not enough to hook me. Epoxi-Lips is pretty good for the first half, and the second half is fairly decent but kind of drags. Tainted Wheat has some neat vocal moments but once again I just can’t get into it. To Our Unborn Daughters has some really cool moments, especially in the ending.

Crushing Destroyer is an amazing ending track, one of the best on the album. For whatever reason, I feel like I should love this album but I just don’t. Most of the tracks I know are ‘good’ but unlike other albums from this bands the songs aren’t stuck in my head for weeks. I guess that’s why this album makes me feel weird.

Final Rating: 8/10

January 26, 2012

Album 0008: Rx Bandits – Mandala

Release Date: 2009
Genre: Progressive Rock


1. My Lonesome Only Friend (04:03)
2. It’s Only Another Parsec… (04:44)
3. Hope Is A Butterfly, No Net Its Captor, She Beats Her Wings And Softly Sings Of Summer Scent And Children’s Laughter… (Virus Of Silence) (04:23)
4. Hearts That Hanker For A Mistake (04:30)
5. Mientras La Veo Soñar (06:36)
6. March Of The Caterpillar (04:12)
7. White Lies (04:30)
8. Bury It Down Low (03:36)
9. Breakfast Cat (05:16)
10. Bled To Be Free (The Operation) (04:37)
11. Bring Our Children Home Or Everything Is Nothing (06:19)

Total Length: 52:47

My Lonesome Only Friend is an incredibly strong opening track. Great chorus, fun and melodic, just cool. It’s Only Another Parsec… shows off some of the evolution the band has had since their previous album. It’s just very neat all around. Hope Is A Butterfly[…] has some interesting vocal ideas in it, and the music backing that is really good. Hearts That Hanker For A Mistake is very good, I kind of wish that the section near the end could have been turned into a song by itself.

Mientras La Veo Soñar is a song where the rhythm, vocal melody, and chorus are so fantastic that nothing negative can be said. I can’t think of anything negative would say, I’m just saying that those elements are damn good. March Of The Caterpillar is really good, but I think the middle section was kind of unnecessary. White Lies is just funky and different from anything else on the album. Bury It Down Low is probably the first song on here that isn’t stellar, but still very good.

Breakfast Cat is very fun to listen to, but I have trouble recalling the song later. It kind of blends in with the rest of the album in a way. Bled To Be Free (The Operation) has really cool song structure, the changing dynamics are fun to listen to. Bring Our Children Home Or Everything Is For Nothing is awesome and a great end to the album. The chorus especially is very heartfelt.

This album sort of marks the end of the Rx Bandits, though they may still record, but they have stopped playing live shows. This was a fantastic end to a fantastic band. Everything is tight and well written, and the album gets better with each listen.

Final Rating: 9/10