Archive for January 25th, 2013

January 25, 2013

Album 0228: Benighted – Identisick

Benighted-Identisick

Release Date: 2006
Genre: Death Metal

Tracklisting:

1. Nemesis (03:32)
2. Collapse (03:48)
3. Identisick (03:54)
4. Sex-Addicted (03:55)
5. Mourning Affliction (04:11)
6. The Twins (03:21)
7. Ransack The Soul (03:20)
8. Blind To The World (03:58)
9. Spiritual Manslaughter (03:19)
10. Iscarioth (03:45)
11. Suffer The Children (04:08)

Total Length: 41:11

Nemesis is a strong starting track. I am not a fan of the really low, growled vocals, but the others work well enough and the riffs are catchy. Collapse isn’t as overall good, but there is one riff halfway through that I really enjoy. Identisick is a bit better overall. Sex-Addicted starts off fast and fun, but once the song slows down I’m not entirely fond of it. Mourning Affliction has some odd moments in there, I can’t help but laugh at the ending.

The Twins has a strange intro and the rest of the song doesn’t do much for me. Ransack The Soul is sort of more of the same at this point, I don’t really have anything to add about it. Blind To The World is a good showing, the mix of the good riffs and nice vocal effects creates an interesting atmosphere. Spiritual Manslaughter is a very good track, glad to hear it. Iscarioth however kind of takes a step back. Suffer The Children is a Napalm Death cover, but I’m not familiar with the original and this cover doesn’t really do much for me. Really that kind of sums up this whole album. There are some neat moments here and there, but I don’t think I’m really the target here.

Final Rating: 7/10